Welcome Back To IDN Forums - International Domain Name Forums - we are an Adsense Revenue Sharing Forum
IDN Forums - IDN Domains
IDN Domains
 

Go Back   IDN Forums - IDN Domains > IDN Discussions > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:02 AM
jacksonm's Avatar
jacksonm jacksonm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,184
Rep Power: 0
jacksonm is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jacksonm Send a message via Skype to jacksonm
Angry webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Seems that somebody caught the .com from snap for one of my .nets and then tried to sell it to me with an automated spam:


Quote:
XXX for sale

Limited Time Offer...!!!

The domain XXX is for sale exclusively by webnamesolution.com. Hurry and take advantage of this limited time special offer
$199.95 USD.

Domain Name: XXX
Price: $199.95 USD

To purchase this domain and take advantage of this Special Offer click on the link below:
WWW.WEBNAMESOLUTION.COM/PURCHASE

Thank you for your interest.
sales@webnamesolution.com

Webname Solution
1256 Guy St. - Montreal, QC H3H 2L3 CA


.

Last edited by jacksonm : 10-29-2007 at 11:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:20 AM
mulligan's Avatar
mulligan mulligan is offline
ドメイン名.ws
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,282
Rep Power: 0
mulligan is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Very common with these guys
__________________
元.net | 米.net | 宮.net | 白.net | 華.net | 八.tv | 蘭.net | 馬.net | 安.net | 牛.net | я.net | ン.net | 灶.com
無料壁紙.jp ~ Free Wallpaper ~ Reasonable offers considered
IDNPool.com ~ Domain Portfolio
Transactions not completed within 7 days from end of sale/auction are void
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:21 AM
Rubber Duck's Avatar
Rubber Duck Rubber Duck is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 10,925
Rep Power: 13
Rubber Duck is on a distinguished road
Re: webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Not so fast. Usually the names they promote are unregistered. They just identify them as available and try to pre-sell them. These guys can be a very useful free research tool!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksonm
Seems that somebody caught the .com from snap for one of my .nets and then tried to sell it to me with an automated spam:





.
__________________
Premium Domains, large selection of most of the heavily speculated languages. PM me for details.

All offers over 1 week old are null and void.

dnlocal.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:29 AM
jacksonm's Avatar
jacksonm jacksonm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,184
Rep Power: 0
jacksonm is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to jacksonm Send a message via Skype to jacksonm
Re: webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber Duck
Not so fast. Usually the names they promote are unregistered. They just identify them as available and try to pre-sell them. These guys can be a very useful free research tool!


Good point. Actually, the name is live on snap as we speak.

.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2007, 07:23 PM
bramiozo's Avatar
bramiozo bramiozo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Haarlem
Posts: 1,190
Rep Power: 0
bramiozo is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bramiozo Send a message via Skype to bramiozo
Re: webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Happened to me two times, same identity, same price and they were still in the snap procedure.

If I recall correctly this is related to an idnf'er.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:09 PM
IDNCowboy IDNCowboy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,506
Rep Power: 0
IDNCowboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Quote:
Originally Posted by bramiozo


If I recall correctly this is related to an idnf'er.
how
__________________
http://www.spec.jp-domains.net .jp domain registration for as low as $15
Buying PREMIUM P-R-E-M-I-U-M ONLY Japanese/Chinese .com
"If the Chinese, Arabs, a.s.o. want to find something using their symbols, let their governments set up websites with URLs like "x.cn". Anyone able to boot a PC and use an OS should be able to punch five letters in the location bar of a web browser."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2007, 12:33 AM
bwhhisc bwhhisc is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,000
Rep Power: 0
bwhhisc is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: webnamesolution.com misusing whois data to market names caught on snap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber Duck
Not so fast. Usually the names they promote are unregistered. They just identify them as available and try to pre-sell them. These guys can be a very useful free research tool!

You are right. I got a letter "selling" a .com which I was holding the .net
Turned out the .com was wide open and available for registration.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump




Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.5
Style Design By: Resourcelabz.se
Copyright Urban Japan, Inc. 2005, 2006


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99