IDN Forums - Internationalised Domain Names  
idnforums | idntools

Go Back   IDN Forums - Internationalised Domain Names > Regional Specific Discussion > Chinese IDN Domains

Chinese IDN Domains Discussion for Chinese IDN domain names. Chinese domains include .cn, .com, & .net.
This section is for discussion only Please do NOT post Chinese domains for sale here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2008, 03:59 PM
bwhhisc bwhhisc is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,948
iTrader: (48)
Rep Power: 10
bwhhisc is on a distinguished road
Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

http://www.networkworld.com/community/node/33905

Over the past few days, I've gotten email from two different Chinese domain name registrars. In each case they've notified me that somebody wants to register the Chinese version of one of my domain names, and suggests that I instead register it first, to protect my trademark and so on. One even helpfully named the outfit that wants to register the name, and points out that it's a domain name investment firm.

So far as I can tell, there are three possible explanations for this:

Coincidence.
A small wave of Chinese domain name squatting activity.
An attempt by registrars to drum up business, by stampeding domain name owners into also registering .cn domains.
As for my guess as to which is most likely, perhaps that can be surmised from the following part of one exchange.

Them:

Dear Curt Monash:

Thank for your letter. According to our investigation, Wenda company is a domain name investment company. They must want to get some profits from registering your company's domain names. As domain name registrar, We are obligated to inform you of this matter.Because we found www.dbms2.com have been registered by you, we informed you in time.If you think these domain names are useful for your company or it will take some bad effect aftet being grabbed, we can help your company dispute these domain names back and register for your company,we will send application form and register procedure to you,you can assist us and finish the registration. If these domain names would not affect your company, you can give up.We will finish registration of Wenda company. Hope get your decision ASAP, so that we can handle the next step. If you have any questions,please contact me.

Kind Regards,

Peter Zhou

Fax: ---

Email: ---

Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd

website:www.chooke.com.cn

Me:

Hello,

I can't get your web site to load for me, in Firefox or Internet Explorer alike.

I can't find evidence on the Web that a domain name investor named Wenda exists, nor can I determine whether, if it does, you are affiliated with them.

Perhaps because your site doesn't load, I can't find out whether you ever signed the Convention on the Self-Discipline of the Internet Address Registration Service Industry.

All things considered, it is very difficult for me to proceed.

Best regards,

CAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:03 PM
thefabfive thefabfive is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Home
Posts: 1,755
iTrader: (30)
Rep Power: 5
thefabfive is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to thefabfive
Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

A couple of businesses I deal with have received the same letter. They tell you someone is trying to register your brand and recommend you employ their services (at outrageous prices) to register the names first.
__________________
IDN? What's an IDN?

בנות
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:11 PM
Rubber Duck's Avatar
Rubber Duck Rubber Duck is online now
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11,904
iTrader: (53)
Rep Power: 15
Rubber Duck is on a distinguished road
Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

If a complete stranger is offering to help you on an unsolicited basis, you can be pretty sure you are about to have your eye's taken out.
__________________
Premium Domains, large selection of most of the heavily speculated languages. PM me for details.

All offers over 1 week old are null and void.

dnlocal.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:14 PM
Miguel Miguel is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 270
iTrader: (1)
Rep Power: 0
Miguel is on a distinguished road
Talking Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

Nice to know that there are con men far away from Washington, DC and Wall Street
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:30 PM
bwhhisc bwhhisc is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,948
iTrader: (48)
Rep Power: 10
bwhhisc is on a distinguished road
Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

I was researching the China Internet Network Information Center (CNNIC) -- the supervision and enforcement organization of the "Convention on the Self-Discipline of the Internet Address Registration Service Industry".


http://english.sina.com/technology/1...02/144676.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2008, 04:34 PM
mulligan's Avatar
mulligan mulligan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,722
iTrader: (55)
Rep Power: 6
mulligan is on a distinguished road
Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

I've had at least one similar email .. In Chinese though
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2008, 01:57 PM
cyllabus cyllabus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
Rep Power: 0
cyllabus is on a distinguished road
Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

Here's our letter:
Dear sparkawards:
We are Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, which is the domain name register center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.
We have received an application formally,one company named "Wenda (China) Investment Co.,Ltd" applies for the domain names(www.sparkawards.cn,www.sparkawards.com.cn,etc.) ,and the Internet keyword(sparkawards) on the internet October 30, 2008. We need to know the opinion of your company because the domain names and keyword may relate to the copyright of brand name on internet.
We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,
Peter Zhou
Tel: +86-21-62416070
Fax: +86-21-62597835
Emaileter.zhou@chooke.com.cn
Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd
website:www.chooke.com.cn
------

At first I responded that our site was active and copyrighted. Then I sent him Dan's article and suggested he was getting famous, and to cease and desist, lest I alert Chinese authorities. Ah the wild world of the web!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:14 PM
alexd's Avatar
alexd alexd is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 432
iTrader: (6)
Rep Power: 0
alexd is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Article: A new racket in Chinese domains?

I receive several emails like this every so often. I found it so nice and helpful that these nice people are letting me know someone wants to register the .cn version of my domain name. I am sure all registrars could learn from this very helpful and informative behaviour.

When I see the words ...

Domain Registrar
.cn
Your domain name

in my email message I usually hit the delete button.

Alex
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00 PM.


sponsor
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.5
Copyright idnforums.com 2005-2008

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114