IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names  
Home | Advertise on idnforums | Premium Membership

Go Back   IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names > IDN Talk > IDN Newbies

IDN Newbies IDN domain newbie questions like What is an IDN domain, what are idners, how do you use punycode, is there a Japanese sedo etc. Since this is a new market please don't hesitate to ask questions...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd February 2010, 07:59 PM

bleu is an unknown quantity at this point
Newbie Here

Hi all,

This is my first post on idnforums so would like to take the opportunity to say hello to everyone and put a question or two forward.

I've been following IDN's for a little while now but only recently decided to take the plunge and invest in a few. As with anything I've come across mixed opinions so I suppose my big question is, is there a real opportunity with them? There's the obvious issues around browser compatibility, IDN.IDN, email support etc, but also having been available for registration for several years (gTLD's) I guess you'd expect that the best names would be gone and from the research I've done this seems to be the case.

My second question is simply what makes a good / valuable IDN? I've been playing around with SE results, CPC, reverse translation, and a whole host of other things but not convinced how important these things really are when determining the value of an IDN?

Apart from that, glad to be here and look forward to hearing what you guys think.

Thanks

Bleu
Old 3rd February 2010, 08:05 PM

sarcle will become famous soon enoughsarcle will become famous soon enoughsarcle will become famous soon enoughsarcle will become famous soon enoughsarcle will become famous soon enoughsarcle will become famous soon enoughsarcle will become famous soon enough
Re: Newbie Here

Hello and welcome to the forums. I'll take a crack at your first question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bleu View Post
is there a real opportunity with them?
None.