IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names  
Home | Advertise on idnforums | Premium Membership

Go Back   IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names > IDN Talk > IDN Newbies

IDN Newbies IDN domain newbie questions like What is an IDN domain, what are idners, how do you use punycode, is there a Japanese sedo etc. Since this is a new market please don't hesitate to ask questions...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th May 2010, 06:58 PM

dynamicsoul is an unknown quantity at this point
Newbie to IDNs and some confused questions...

Firstly hello.. Been reading the threads in here on and off for last few days.. seems a really good forum..

I have a question.. as I am totally new to IDNs.. and have been Googling for info for the last week or two, I may now have information overload lol

Firstly.. I own a fair few english domains.. and websites.. and picked up a small handfull of chineseIDN.coms a couple of weeks ago..

I was reading the news this week about the first ccTLDs going online..
And keep finding similar story posted on most blogs and newslines.. I'm finding it hard to get a dummies explanation of whats going on.

What do they mean in news items like this quote below about IDN.com being next..?

"Now that IDN.IDN ccTLD capacity is here, the internationalization of IDN.com is the likely next step and both extensions are sure to thrive."

I understand that the Arabic domains that went out were country extension but are .coms not already active?.. I have one on my server, and if I type the chinese characters i find it no problem, and displays as such in correct way.. so do they just mean that outside services (search etc) will not accept them yet?..

Sorry if this seems like a total dumb question.. but have found it hard to get my head round all the terminology .. far too many abbreviations going on I reckon!! haha..
Old 9th May 2010, 07:03 PM
ком.ком コム.コム

555 has disabled reputation
Re: Newbie to IDNs and some confused questions...