IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names  
Home | Advertise on idnforums | Premium Membership

Go Back   IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names > Regional Specific Discussion > Русские Доменные Имена

Русские Доменные Имена Discussion on native Russian IDN domain names

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th January 2007, 08:05 PM

filmlion is an unknown quantity at this point
good news - my observations...

i am a professional seo guy, but mostly work in the american market, so not quite familiar with most current situation in russian SE world, however i dealt with it before.

with my new interest in IDNs i've made a research on the market and have not so bad news for you guys - those who deal with idn.coms.

there is a chance that .com will not only beat the idn.ru but also will beat the idn.newrussianidntld (say: idn.rf - both in russian: домен.рф)

while yandex is #1 se in russia (some stats say: over 54% together with mail.ru whose SERP also comes from yandex), google is heavily increasing it's presence there. some stats say it's already about 24% - which means 24% of russian internet users use google to search for something on the web. it's not so bad already (it is like yahoo in the USA).

knowing for sure that despite i personally don't like google - it has quite strong alorithm which makes its results more relevant and clearer. (i love yahoo more for the better and more relevant results, but that's not a point here). google also has so many additional cool features, plus it's famous adwords and adsense programs - the last one is a love of many russian webmasters and they will promote google that way... and a known name, almost as known as yandex (in russia.)