IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names  
Home | Advertise on idnforums | Premium Membership

Go Back   IDN Forums - Internationalized Domain Names > Regional Specific Discussion > 域名

域名 Discussion for Chinese IDN domain names. Chinese domains include .cn, .com, & .net.
This section is for discussion only Please do NOT post Chinese domains for sale here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th February 2007, 07:26 AM

dusty is an unknown quantity at this point
IDN China test

I studied at Tsinghua in Beijing China last year and IDN.IDN domains worked on every computer I tried at the state run university. However, the IDN.com IDN.net etc. did not work on any computer I tried. This is quite a blow since mainland China is the place these names would have the most value.

Now in the US the IDN.com IDN.net etc. all work fine, but I cannot access any Chinese IDN.IDN

I am interested to know if anyone in China had better luck using IDN.com IDN.net etc. in the mainland.

Is China just allowing their IND.IDN to work and preventing the IDN.com IDN.net etc. from working in order to promote their system over the ICANN approved?
Old 24th February 2007, 08:10 AM
Administrator

Drewbert is a tad dodgyDrewbert is a tad dodgyDrewbert is a tad dodgyDrewbert is a tad dodgyDrewbert is a tad dodgyDrewbert is a tad dodgyDrewbert is a tad dodgy
Re: IDN China test

It certainly sounds like it.

Split root.
Old 24th February 2007, 08:16 AM
Veteran

touchring is an unknown quantity at this point

Quote:
Originally Posted by dusty
I studied at Tsinghua in Beijing China last year

When last year?
Old 24th February 2007, 02:10 PM

Patriot is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: IDN's will work one day

Hello Dusty,

Currently IDN's don't work at all outside the US. There are technical reasons why
IDN's are not working.

The good news is the infrastructure necessary for IDN's to work is available and accessible, so keep the faith.