PDA

View Full Version : Value of .net versus .com and .jp

Hotweb
28th July 2007, 09:03 AM
I'm pretty new to the whole IDN game and realized that I'm late in the game.

I've been searching through and found a couple of words that bring in 150,000 monthly searches. But the .com and .jp are taken.

Are .net worth anything?

I'm also wondering if you had a choice of .com, .jp and .net (I guess .biz too) which one would you put a priority on?

touchring
28th July 2007, 09:10 AM
Based on what people on forums say: .com are generally worth 5-30 times of .nets. The ratio for ASCIIs seems to be 20 or higher. RD values idn.net at 1/5 of idn.com. :)

As for .com vs .jp, this is really controversial.

bramiozo
28th July 2007, 09:34 AM
For ASCII it would really have to be 10 times or higher based on LLL and NNN sales and higher is limited or you would have to deny the intrinsic value of keyword gtld's.

At the moment idn .com's are by definition valued higher by the resellers and indeed most noted sales are .com's but this is more based on the ascii rule than anything else. You shouldn't be suprised if certain languages will attract more visitors to .net albeit with a lower ctr.

Olney
28th July 2007, 09:57 AM
Welcome to the site
It depends on what you plan to do with your portfolio of names.
If you want to develop I'd think net, com, or jp are equally good.
Especially if you are a Japanese speaker & can easily see how to develop & the potential.
If it's buy & sell short term com & jp is better currently com has the biggest public sales.

I'm gearing towards thinking future value is going to be
1. jp
2. com
3. net

This is looking towards 2 to 3 years later up until then I believe there will be no clear "more value" extension.
I didn't think that initially but JPRS has made IDN.jp locally cheaper than anything else even ASCII.com, plus primary used local domain services like muumuu domains only allow registrations of IDN.jp.