PDA

View Full Version : Aloha

JamieMac
5th October 2007, 07:05 AM
Howdy everyone,

I'm trying to quickly get up to speed on IDNs, so go easy on me..I'm fairly new to domaining but a big believer in the IDN space. I used to work in the web globalisation arena, but I've been in search marketing (mostly ppc) since 2004. I've got a few basic questions:

1. Do languages/countries that have an alphabet that isn't compatible with ASCII would have a greater upside in the IDN realm than would say French or German? I would think that you'd see greater traffic for simplified Chinese, Korean, Russian/Cyrilic or Japanese than you would for the same term as an IDN in French or German. Is this the case?

2. In general are IDNs more of a buy and hold play right now, or are they getting enough traffic to monetize on them now? Or is it a fractured market, wherein only a few monster terms are working in each language?

3. Where can I find info on the secondary market for IDN's? Especially Russian and Swedish?

Thanks in advance!

jacksonm
5th October 2007, 08:03 AM
1. Do languages/countries that have an alphabet that isn't compatible with ASCII would have a greater upside in the IDN realm than would say French or German? I would think that you'd see greater traffic for simplified Chinese, Korean, Russian/Cyrilic or Japanese than you would for the same term as an IDN in French or German. Is this the case?

2. In general are IDNs more of a buy and hold play right now, or are they getting enough traffic to monetize on them now? Or is it a fractured market, wherein only a few monster terms are working in each language?

3. Where can I find info on the secondary market for IDN's? Especially Russian and Swedish?

Hi, welcome.