PDA

View Full Version : Can I use ANY registrar?

milan
9th March 2006, 05:44 PM
I'm new to IDNs -- please help me out on this one:
Can I register an IDN by converting it to punnycode and registering that form via any registrar (not only those that advertise as IDN). E.g., I want to register glück.com, and I translate it to xn--glck-1ra.com, and then go to my cheap registrar and register xn--glck-1ra.com for couple of bucks?

kenne
9th March 2006, 05:53 PM
in my experience, if they don't support punycode, typing in xn--abc will result in an error. So as long as they
don't return error, it's probably ok.

I've used domainsite, name.net with no problems.

idnceo
9th March 2006, 06:09 PM
Can I register an IDN by converting it to punnycode and registering that form via any registrar (not only those that advertise as IDN). E.g., I want to register glück.com, and I translate it to xn--glck-1ra.com, and then go to my cheap registrar and register xn--glck-1ra.com for couple of bucks?

Since you are new in IDNs, when you are gonna decide for a registrar, you should also consider what you are gonna do with it, there are many fees that need to be considered depending on what u want. Sometimes the cheapest ones to register a domain arent so cheap at the end. And be cautious, dont trust some people in several domain forums, as they work- own- or are personal friends, etc. with X registrars, so they just keep telling you use X. Try yourself with several registrars and decide by yourself. And when start registering, remember some IDN are reserved, so dont get excited to see domains like 中国.com available in some registrars, etc.

Rubber Duck
9th March 2006, 06:19 PM

There is a lot more to worry about than just cost. If you sell is going to be easy to transfer? If you have a lot are they going to be easy to manage? If you have problems will others on here be able to advise? Who has the best interface, and who is going places in this business?