PDA

View Full Version : इंडियन.com - Any native speakers in here ?

alexd
27th April 2009, 09:57 PM
Hi guys.

Just registered इंडियन.com ( xn--i1bj3f2a8a9f.com ) on a drop. Its a Hindi domain, and from what I can gather, it means Indian. Are there any native speakers in here to give me a confirmation of this domain ??

The .net has been registered since 2006 by someone living in India.

Any feedback on this domain will be most appreciated - especially if its incorrect and one that I should drop.

Thanks

Alex

catchnames
28th April 2009, 12:34 PM
It is not translation of "Indian" but transliteration. I am not sure it may worth something.I may be wrong.correct translation will be भारतीय or हिन्दुस्तानी.

alexd
28th April 2009, 12:56 PM
It is not translation of "Indian" but transliteration. I am not sure it may worth something.I may be wrong.correct translation will be भारतीय or हिन्दुस्तानी.

Thanks for the reply catchnames.

I have no knowledge at all of the Hindi language.

I have just done a check on Google insights, with the domain I registered and the two translations you suggested ...
http://www.google.com/insights/search/#q=%E0%A4%87%E0%A4%82%E0%A4%A1%E0%A4%BF%E0%A4%AF%E0%A4%A8%2C%E0%A4%AD%E0%A4%BE%E0%A4%B0%E0%A4%A4%E0%A5%80%E0%A4%AF%2C%E0%A4%B9%E0%A4%BF%E0%A4%A8%E0%A5%8D%E0%A4%A6%E0%A5%81%E0%A4%B8%E0%A5%8D%E0%A4%A4%E0%A4%BE%E0%A4%A8%E0%A5%80&cmpt=q
It appears that the one I registered is searched more, though thats not to say that mine is the best of the three, as the ones you suggested seem to be been registered a while back.

Thanks

Alex

bwhhisc
28th April 2009, 01:34 PM

Just curious....sometimes "transliterations" have 100k google serp results, whereby direct Hindi translations might be less than 10k. I can't think of a good example...but curious if you can comment on value of transliteration in Hindi.

I also notice that Google translate seems to quite often gives you the "transliteration" in translating English to Hindi.

catchnames