PDA

View Full Version : How would you rank the various Chinese extensions?

miked
20th April 2006, 03:56 PM
Hi,

I'm new to the world of IDNs. Not wanting to do too much too soon, I'm trying to concentrate on the Chinese market first.

My question to you guys that have been in this game for a while is: how would you rank the various Chinese extensions? I'm thinking primarily:

.cn
.com.cn
org.cn
net cn

but of course any others that are out there (eg Hong Kong domains).

Is any one more or less recognised. Are there sperate constituencies in China that tend to prefer one or the other?

I'd be interested in your thoughts.

Thanks,
Mike.

kenne
20th April 2006, 04:02 PM
.cn > .com.cn >> the rest of brood

.com's relative superiority over .cn is probable, but far from a sure thing.
.net's relative inferiority vs .com is probable, but not a sure thing.

my 2 cents.

gammascalper
20th April 2006, 04:05 PM
.com = .cn > .com.cn >> rest

You now have 4c total.

touchring
20th April 2006, 04:16 PM
.cn > .com.cn >> the rest of brood

.com's relative superiority over .cn is probable, but far from a sure thing.
.net's relative inferiority vs .com is probable, but not a sure thing.

my 2 cents.

;)

idnceo
20th April 2006, 04:29 PM
i do .com and .cn sometimes i have grabbed some .net because after all i feel the kanji for .net is very nice in case of idn.idn

.tv another story. :rolleyes:

who knows Giant or Touchring can give a good feedback inside china about other extensions but im worried about only these ones .com .cn .net as i said. :)

touchring
20th April 2006, 04:41 PM
i do .com and .cn sometimes i have grabbed some .net because after all i feel the kanji for .net is very nice in case of idn.idn

.tv another story. :rolleyes:

who knows Giant or Touchring can give a good feedback inside china about other extensions but im worried about only these ones .com .cn .net as i said. :)

I only got 2 .cn, but i feel that with the .中国 extension, it is on solid ground.