PDA

View Full Version : Just Joined/Saying Hello...

domaindog
23rd November 2009, 08:48 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post. I am a real newbie so please forgive my questions that appear very basic to you. I have been attracted to domain-name investment after reading about the recent ICANN announcement for non-latin script IDNs. I have never registered an IDN so far.

This forum appears to have a lot of help. I have a few very basic questions:

1. Recommended registrars for IDNs? Can all registrars work with the Punycode?
2. Will the existing IDNs be converted into non-latin script IDNs?
3. Where do I go to register arabic names?

Thankyou

23rd November 2009, 09:11 PM
1. Recommended registrars for IDNs? Can all registrars work with the Punycode?
2. Will the existing IDNs be converted into non-latin script IDNs?
3. Where do I go to register arabic names?
Welcome to IDNF.

1. Dynadot for the interface is my preferred registrar.
Additional options: Moniker,GoDaddy and Domainsite
2. All indications and expectations show that the existing IDN.ASCII (i.e דוגמא.com) will be converted to IDN.IDN (דוגמא.קום) and the registrant of the IDN.ASCII will be the only one entitled to the IDN.IDN
3. Any registrar that accepts IDN gTLD registrations accepts them for all languages.

domaindog
23rd November 2009, 11:39 PM
@555 Many thanks. I'll start working. I had read that Egypt and UAE had started registrations (perhaps pre-registrations for the IDN.IDN domains), and I had been searching for local registrars in these countries, but did not get much success.
PS: Your example covers IDN.com (ASCII). let us say one wants IDN.cc in Non-latin script. Will the present cc(ASCII) domain holder be entitled to get the cc(non-latin) as well?

sarcle
24th November 2009, 12:40 AM
Will the present cc(ASCII) domain holder be entitled to get the cc(non-latin) as well?