PDA

View Full Version : How does SEO and IDN domains differ?

newtoidns
4th December 2012, 09:01 PM
Hi

I am new to idn domain names and was wondering how google views them when it come to ranking them,

I know exact matching domain names do help with regards to normal seo and was wondering if this is the case with idn domains,

Thanks

yanni
4th December 2012, 09:08 PM
Yes it is. But for the Russian market (since your first idn is Russian) you really need Yandex and Mail.ru to index your site. And they will, eventually. It may help to create a Yandex.ru webmaster account.

newtoidns
4th December 2012, 09:11 PM
Yes it is. But for the Russian market (since your first idn is Russian) you really need Yandex and Mail.ru to index your site. And they will, eventually. It may help to create a Yandex.ru webmaster account.

Thanks for that,

What i am wondering is how yandex / google etc respond when a EWD which is a IDN and if a EWS IDN helps in SEO placement like normal EWD domain names

yanni
4th December 2012, 09:20 PM
Yes Google and Yandex treat them as regular EMD. A few people here have sites on IDN EMD which place well in the engines. Content, of course, will be your primary factor for placing well, but I'm sure you know that.

newtoidns
4th December 2012, 09:26 PM
Yes Google and Yandex treat them as regular EMD. A few people here have sites on IDN EMD which place well in the engines. Content, of course, will be your primary factor for placing well, but I'm sure you know that.

Hi

Thanks, yes content is king as always.

I might have ago at developing some EWD IDN domain names and see how these rank, would be interesting for me to see how these work out

2nd February 2013, 11:40 AM
google does recognize and display IDNs properly so at least in theory they should rank like ASCII

Avtal
3rd February 2013, 03:51 AM
google does recognize and display IDNs properly so at least in theory they should rank like ASCII