PDA

View Full Version : Use of 网 in simp chinese

Wot
1st June 2006, 02:07 AM
Trying to get some feedback from native/speakers/readers.

Seems to be a leaning towards this shortened version 网 (net) when referring to the internet - typically chinese.

Anyway being a newbie I checked on english usage of net as a prefix and most good net@#$%.com go back to the mid 90's.

I have subsequently picked up a few 网 simp chinese prefix names in the hope that this is the adopted version.

网购物.com net shopping www.xn--g2x58yeyk.com for instance gets 13 million at Google.cn

网新闻.com news www.xn--efv838cm6p.com gets over 9 million at Google.cn

It looks like I am on the right track but advice would be appreciated.

sakillll
1st June 2006, 01:30 PM
sorry.
They are junk.

the right term is 购物网,新闻网.

Rubber Duck
1st June 2006, 01:37 PM
Actually looking at the number of Google Adwords that the term 网购物 returns in addition to the 13M results searching between quotation marks, I would be very surprise if this term was junk in domaining terms.

Giant
1st June 2006, 02:09 PM
sorry.
They are junk.

the right term is 购物网,新闻网.

They are junk.

Rubber Duck
1st June 2006, 02:14 PM
Thanks Giant. That is interesting to note that Google is capable of throwing up Adwords terms that presumably nobody has bid. I think we have to assume that people won't bid on junk, especially when the companies involved appear to be local. Frankly, that is extremely worrying as due to a lack of any other data this has been a method we have used extensively to verify terms!

markits
1st June 2006, 02:20 PM
Unfortunatly sakillll and giant are right.

Wot, please pm me for translation next time you want to reg a Chinese domain. I won't compete with you. Remember I had requested your hlep for similar thing at DNF?

Wot
2nd June 2006, 12:07 AM
Unfortunatly sakillll and giant are right.