PDA

View Full Version : IDN.IDN question on DNFORUM...

idnowner
19th July 2006, 05:32 PM
Any expert care to answer...

http://www.dnforum.com/thread166386.html

Giant
19th July 2006, 06:08 PM
I am not an expert, but I will write a few lines of what I know about it, and hope any member(s) here help proofread and make my explaining readable and understandable.

Rubber Duck
19th July 2006, 06:57 PM
Well, I hope I have not prempted anyone, but I have added by 555 penny worth. The question set was on par with "What is the meaning of life?" but I have attempted to give a synopsis, even if it is in my own inimitable style.

Giant
19th July 2006, 07:10 PM
First we need to understand what is an IDN.ascii, and what is IDN.idn.

Let's use an IDN.ccTLD domain 中国.cn [China.cn] for example.

User <---- [中国.cn]-------- (Software/Browser) -------- [xn--fiqs8s.cn] ----> Root Server

xn--fiqs8s.cn is no different from any ASCII domains like LOANS.cn in the registry, they are all ASCII domains. But why we call xn--fiqs8s.cn an IDN domain?

Because the browser makes it look like an Chinese (Unicode) domain. Whenever the software/browser sees a domain start with "XN--", it will apply "Punycode Scheme" formular to the ASCII script after "hyphen hyphen" and translate it into Unicode character(s). So in this case xn--fiqs8s.cn looks like 中国.cn to the user.

And vice versa, when the user types 中国.cn URL to the browser, the browser translates it to xn--fiqs8s.cn then sends it the Root server.

So, is IDN.ascii usable? valuable? Absolutely, 100% just like any other ASCII domains.

Now IDN.idn.

A domain we see is always with an extention like .cn, and we know xn--fiqs8s.cn is to be resolved at the root server in China.

Many people in many different countries ask, if we can make the domain part look like Chinese, why don't we also make its extention look like Chinese? like 中国.中国

That's how the idea IDN.idn came from. Of course, it's very easy to achieve this.