PDA

View Full Version : The practicality of using IDNs

scotty
12th December 2006, 06:37 PM
First off, I'd like to thank everyone who contributes to this forum for their great posts which have really helped me begin to get a handle on the whole IDN concept.

I'm a newbie who really sees the value of IDNs. My wife is native mainlaind Chinese although we both live in the UK. We (she! I can't really speak much mandarin) talk a lot with her friends and family at home and I did a little market research to verify that English and pinyin really are not suitable for Chinese web surfers and IDNs make much more sense.

Okay, here's my question:

When you register an idn.cn domain name, you also get the idn.idn equivalent (I believe) from the chinese central nic. ((Please correct me if I'm wrong on that.))

However, that's not true for idn.com domains.

This strikes me as a problem for idn.com's. If you think about how someone types chinese characters into a computer, they're going to be using some piece of software that converts a series of latin key strokes into chinese characters. (The chances of them using a chinese character keyboard are pretty small.) So to type in a www.idn.com domain name they're going to have to type www. in english, then switch to chinese and type the idn part, then switch back to english for the .com part. This strikes me as impractical and makes chinese idn.com's useful only where they appear highly ranked in a search engine and so can be clicked on directly as a link.

Am I missing something or is this a fair assessment?

cheers,
Scott

zfreud
12th December 2006, 06:55 PM
For internet users in asia, switching character sets is no more difficult than for a westener switching between CAPITAL LETTERS and small caps.

The real uncertainty is over how .com will be regulated in China. The chinese government is clearly making a big push to promote .cn and it's eventual hanzi equivalent.

In the end, I think both .cn and .com will have high value.