PDA

View Full Version : How-to-do Mini-Site website???

Lmg67
24th January 2007, 09:20 PM
I'm wondering if anyone can recommend a website that teaches how to build a mini-site. I would like to start doing something with my domains, mostly in Hebrew, but I have no idea how. I don't know how to put in Adsense, I don't know how to transfer information from Wikipedia for example to my own name, or how to type in information, actually I just realized I don't think I have anyone hosting me since I buy at Domainsite for $6.99. I have to be hosted, right? I don't even know how that works. (getting hosted)

As you can see, I am a newbie x 100 with this. But I really want to learn how to do it and I have the time. I am smart and a quick learner, I just need clear instructions. Once I know how to do it, I could get some sites up pretty quickly.
Thanks!
Laurie

yanni
24th January 2007, 09:33 PM
Yup, your first step would be to get some hosting :)

Hostgator (https://secure.hostgator.com/cgi-bin/affiliates/clickthru.cgi?id=yanni1&campaign=Urtrade) offers some cheap plans with multiple add-on domains. (shameless aff plug)

Then, #1: unless you wanna learn html, you can get yourself a WYSIWYG (=What You See Is What You Get) html editor where you basically paste your content and it generates the html code for you. Your system may have one pre-installed already. There's still a learning curve involved here.
Then you upload to your server and there you have it.

Option #2: Get someone else to do it for a small fee. There are a couple of members here who offer these services. Michael, Blast...

Option #3: Open a free account with domainmanager.com They provide free redirection services. Change your domain's nameservers and use their free site option to create your minisite. ( I haven't used this option with them so I'm not sure wether the site can be more than one pages, or if you need to write your own code.)