PDA

View Full Version : Help understanding some German domain issues.

ukdom
14th February 2006, 03:32 PM
Hi.
I'm pretty new to domaining and when first starting went a bit mad and rushed straight in registering some (what I thought at the time) were good German domain names, both IDN and in regular characters.

Now first off a question, when reg'ing German names, I thought I had picked up on the fact that after the .de ccTLD then .info TLD is more popular than .com - is this correct?

Next, as I mentioned I picked up a couple of German domains (mostly .info) one of which I am now unsure of in respect of a trademark issue.

This is euroscheckkarte<dot>com and <dot>info

Any thoughts?

If you would likw to see what else I have reg'd then please have a look on SEDO as follows:

http://www.sedo.com/search/searchresult.php4?showuser=ukdomainer

BTW, apologies if this contravenes any rules about posting links, I did look to see if it was allowed and could find nothing to say it was not.

Thanks for a great forum.

huronargentino
14th February 2006, 04:00 PM
Hi, welcome to the forum
I dont know if the german most used tld its the .info
I would say that you are correct about the .de
but if you have the chance to get the .com
you must do it!
.info extension its also popular, but might be because some time ago fees where reduced (in a period was even free in some sites).
But the .com its still also really valuable, and now also the idns.com in german made some kick ass sales!

ukdom
14th February 2006, 04:23 PM
Believe me, if I can get the .com domains I will, but I haven't had much luck!

huronargentino
14th February 2006, 04:48 PM
yes, i know
but why dont you try the idns .com in german?
there are still lot available!

ukdom
14th February 2006, 05:15 PM