PDA

View Full Version : I'm a COMPLETE beginner - please help with some basic info on IDN's

FireHorse
16th February 2006, 05:18 PM
I have invested in domain names already for some years including some chinese (.cn) names using the english character set.
However, I have only just become aware of this thing called IDN but I'm having difficulty understanding some aspects of what they are.
For example, in which language or character system is the generic IDN registered in ?. If the IDN is resolved by unicode in the relevant language of the country that the person typing in the address is in (say www.flowers.com), is the resulting web site and all its associated pages completely translated into the relevant language no matter what that language is in ? As this seems a tall order, have I misunderstood this aspect ?

Is someone in Spitsbergen going to know that the domain name they type in belongs and is run by someone in Tasmania ?

Is there a beginner's Q&A on this forum that could help me with some of the basic elements of IDN's.

bwhhisc
16th February 2006, 05:27 PM
Welcome to the Forum...here is a good site full of information for those just getting into IDN's. The site is really large, and you can get Verisigns slant on IDN's here.
VERISIGN SITE
http://www.idnnow.com/index.jsp
Beneath the tabs on the right side of the site are HUGE amounts of information.
Worth a quick surf thru for what may interest you and will also give you the basics by catagory:
What is an IDN? How do I use one? Where do I buy one? How can I sell IDNs?

THEN, there is a weath of information here at IDNForums topics (over 6000 posts here). Just read along on various subjects that interest you, and feel free to post any questions as you go along.
You'll find lots of IDNers more than willing to sort it all out, although much of what is to come and how fast it will happen is still open to speculation. Again, welcome.

bramiozo
16th February 2006, 05:46 PM